2010 N24 Australian update – hour 23

2010 Nurburgring 24 hour

Drama at the head of the race with the #9 Porsche GT3 R Hybrid retiring with what is believed to be a transmission fault. The #25 BMW M3 GT2 inherited the lead and is currently over 8 minutes in front of the #43 Ferrari F430 GTC. Reports suggest the BMW is having transmission problems of its own. There could be more drama to come in the final hour.

You have to feel for the Porsche Hybrid, too. It showed exceptional pace and completed around 22 and half hours of race time, much of it in the lead.

The live timing feed has been playing up and the updated list of Aussies and Kiwis is as best as can be managed under the circumstances.

[Pic: Frozenspeed via twitter]

Car #35 – Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (Class SP7)
11th overall (142 laps) – 2nd in class
Rodney Forbes (AUS), Matthias Weiland (D), Kai Reimer (D), David Horn (D)

Car #28 – Porsche 997 Cup (Class SP9 GT3)
18th overall (137 laps) – 8th in class
Barton Mawer (AUS), Timothy Macrow (AUS), Maher Algadri (IND), Andreas Weiland (D)

Car #148 – Subaru Impreza WRX STI (Class SP3T)
overall (127 laps) – 6th in class

Mal Rose (AUS), Mike Rimmer (GB), Peter Venn (GB)

Car #243 – Honda Civic Type R (Class N2)
88th overall (114 laps) – 1st in class

Mark Corbett (NZ), David Glasson (NZ), Rod Hicks (NZ), Peter Milliner (NZ)

Car #244 – Honda Integra (Class N2)
90th overall (114 laps) – 2nd in class

Nicholas Chester (NZ), Brian McGovern (NZ), Mathew Noonan (NZ), Greg Spark (NZ)

Car #225 – BMW M3 (Class V5)
96th overall (112 laps) – 8th in class
Richard Gartner (AUS), Paul Stubber (AUS), Ray Stubber (AUS)

Car #128 – Volvo S60 (Class SP4T)
110th overall (104 laps) – 5th in class
Martin Bailey (AUS), Kean Booker (AUS), Mike Reedy (AUS), Christian Steffens (D)

Car #172 – Volkswagen Golf TDI (Class D1T)
131st overall (84 laps)
Wayne Moore (NZ), Maurice O’Reilly (NZ), Heiner Immig (D), Eberhard Rattunde (D)

Car #67 – Aston Martin Vantage N24 (Class SP10 GT4)
142nd overall (77 laps)
Stephen Borness (AUS), Robert Rubis (AUS), Ric Shaw (AUS), Mark Griffiths (GB)

Car #111 – Audi R8 LMS (Class SP9 GT3)
151st overall (69 laps)
Rob Wilson (NZ), Michael Ammermüller (D), Sean-Patrick Breslin (GB), Vimal Mehta (TZA)

Car #71 – Audi RS4 (Class SP8)
157th overall (66 laps)
Andy Booth (NZ), Stuart Owers (NZ), Lewis Scott (NZ), Alistair Taylor (NZ)

Car #36 – Porsche 911 GT3 (Class SP9 GT3)
188th overall (17 laps)
Peter Scharmach (NZ), Frank Kräling (D), Marc Gindorf (MCO), Arnaud Peyroles (FRA)

Car #108 – BMW 130i (Class SP5)
195th overall (3 laps)
Richard Shillington (AUS), Rob Thomson (AUS), Angus Kirkwood (HKG), Matt McFadden (USA)

Car #57 – BMW M3 GTRS (Class SP7)
197th overall (1 lap)
Damien Flack (AUS), Jose Manuel Balbiani (ARG), Andzej Dzikevic (LIE)