2011 N24 Australian/NZ update – hour 10

The 2011 Nürburgring 24 hour race is well underway now and while it is mid-morning here in Australia it’s just after 2am in the Eifel. At the head of the field is the #18 Manthey Racing Porsche 911 GT3 RSR.

Drama has beset a number of the front runners with the pole sitting Ferrari 458 having suspension issues. It’s currently in 19th around 4 laps behind. The #9 Porsche GT3 R Hybrid also had a brief stint in the lead until transmission problems forced it in for a long pit stop and well out of contention. A number of Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3s have flirted with the lead. Plenty of variety this year.

After the break you’ll see a list of the Aussie and Kiwi competitors which has been compiled as best as can be. If you notice any anomalies or have any extra information please leave a comment below.

Car #10 – Porsche 911 GT3 R // Class SP 9
10th overall (65 laps)
Marc Gindorf (MCO), Wolfgang Kohler (GER), Peter Scharmach (NZ)

Car #62 – Aston Martin Vantage V8 Vantage GT4 // Class SP 10*
29th overall (61 laps)
Wolfgang Weber (GER), Rickard Nilsson (GER), Norbert Bermes (GER), Ric Shaw (AUS)

Car #6 – Aston Martin Vantage N24 // Class SP 10
36th overall (59 laps)
Darren Turner (GB), Shinichi Katsura (JPN), Rob Thomson (AUS)

Car #72 – Audi RS4 // Class SP 8T
64th overall (56 laps)
Lewis Scott (NZ), Stuart Owers (NZ)

Car #142 – MINI Cooper S // Class SP 3T*
69th overall (56 laps)
Peter Scharmach (NZ), Markus Oestreich (GER), Friedrich von Bohlen (GER), Harald Grohs (GER)

Car #143 – Seat Leon Supercopa // Class SP 3T
70th overall (56 laps)
Heiner Immig (GER), Wayne Moore (NZ), Maurice O’Reilly (NZ)

Car #231 – BMW M3 E36 // Class V5
72nd overall (55 laps)
Richard Gartner (AUS), Ray Stubber (AUS), Paul Stubber (AUS)

Car #248 – Honda Civic Type-R // Class N2
106th overall (52 laps)
Rod Hicks (AUS), Mark Corbett (NZ), Dean Cockerton (NZ), Mike Eady (NZ)

Car #247 – Honda Civic Type-R // Class N2
126th overall (50 laps)
Brian McGovern (NZ), Greg Spark (NZ), Jeff Lowery (NZ), Alistair Taylor (NZ)

Car #43 – Holden Commodore // Class SP 8
181st overall (28 laps)
Mal Rose (AUS), Peter Leemhuis (AUS), Damien Flack (AUS)

Car #136 – Seat Leon Supercopa // Class SP 3T
202nd overall (1 lap)
Clint Harvey (AUS), Brett Niall (AUS), Malcolm Niall (AUS), Mark Pilatti (AUS)


  • Cars marked with asterisk seem to have a different driver line up indicated with Ric Shaw (AUS) and Peter Scharmach (NZ) no longer listed. Unless we receive confirmation otherwise we won’t include these cars in further updates.
  • Cars marked with their position in green are still running, a gray listing indicates the car is no longer circulating (as best as we can tell).