2011 N24: Australian/NZ update – hour 24

Manthey Racing will claim the headlines from the 2011 Nürburgring 24 hour race, but with over 200 starters there’s clearly going to be many worthy stories from all those who finished.

Congratulations to all and especially those who made the long journey over from Australia and New Zealand. Special mention to car #248 the Team Kiwi Honda Civic Type R which won the N2 category. Unfortunately, it has been a character building experience for many of the other teams who made the trek.

Indeed, there were three cars driven by all-Aussie crews and all three failed to finish. Hard luck to those guys and here’s hoping they have the determination and capacity to return next year to seek redemption.

Our final update for Aussie/Kiwi runners can be seen after the break. If you’re a part of these teams, or know of them, we’d love to hear a few words from you in the comments section below.

UPDATE: Apologies to Rodney Forbes who we missed during the race. Thanks to Andrew for bringing this to our attention. Good news, too, Forbes and his crew brought their Porsche home in the top 20. For more on Forbes check out this article on speedcafe.com.

Car #55 – Porsche 911 GT3 Cup // Class SP 7
19th overall (145 laps)
Matthias Weiland (GER), Kai Riemer (GER), Rodney Forbes (AUS)

Car #10 – Porsche 911 GT3 R // Class SP 9
22nd overall (142 laps)
Marc Gindorf (MCO), Wolfgang Kohler (GER), Peter Scharmach (NZ)

Car #72 – Audi RS4 // Class SP 8T
59th overall (130 laps)
Lewis Scott (NZ), Stuart Owers (NZ)

Car #143 – Seat Leon Supercopa // Class SP 3T
76th overall (125 laps)
Heiner Immig (GER), Wayne Moore (NZ), Maurice O’Reilly (NZ)

Car #6 – Aston Martin Vantage N24 // Class SP 10
84th overall (122 laps)
Darren Turner (GB), Shinichi Katsura (JPN), Rob Thomson (AUS)

Car #248 – Honda Civic Type-R // **Class N2 WINNER**
89th overall (121 laps)
Rod Hicks (AUS), Mark Corbett (NZ), Dean Cockerton (NZ), Mike Eady (NZ)

Car #247 – Honda Civic Type-R // Class N2
109th overall (114 laps)
Brian McGovern (NZ), Greg Spark (NZ), Jeff Lowery (NZ), Alistair Taylor (NZ)

Car #231 – BMW M3 E36 // Class V5
152nd overall (80 laps)
Richard Gartner (AUS), Ray Stubber (AUS), Paul Stubber (AUS)

Car #43 – Holden Commodore // Class SP 8
187th overall (28 laps)
Mal Rose (AUS), Peter Leemhuis (AUS), Damien Flack (AUS)

Car #136 – Seat Leon Supercopa // Class SP 3T
202nd overall (1 lap)
Clint Harvey (AUS), Brett Niall (AUS), Malcolm Niall (AUS), Mark Pilatti (AUS)


  • Cars marked with their position in green are still running, a gray listing indicates the car is no longer circulating (as best as we can tell).