2013 N24h Australia/NZ update: Hour 2

2013 Nurburgring 24 hour race

Two hours have already elapsed in the 2013 Nürburgring 24 hour race and up front the #4 Audi and #007 Aston Martin spectacularly fighting for the lead, as we write the Aston Martin has just taken the lead.

For the Aussies and Kiwis there was drama early with the #190 BMW of Wayne Moore suffering damage in the first hour. Almost as soon as that was shown on the live stream the Australian crewed #90 BMW lost control near Aremberg and punted off a Toyota 86. It appeared there was oil on the track which contributed to the mayhem.

Unfortunately it appears as though the race is over for both cars. Updates for the 11 Aussie/Kiwi cars can be seen after the break.

Car #27 – Porsche 997 GT3 Cup S // Class SP9 GT3
23rd outright // 20th in class (14 laps)

Paul Stubber (AUS), Roberto Fecchio (ITA), Dario Paletto (ITA), Marco Mapelli (ITA)

Car #72 – Aston Martin Vantage V8 // Class SP8
51st outright // 4th in class (13 laps)

Ric Shaw (AUS), Kim Hauschild (GER), Tom Moran (GER), Dieter Svepes (AUT)

Car #6 – Aston Martin Vantage V8 // Class SP8
65th outright // 7th in class (12 laps)

Mal Rose (AUS), Peter Leemhuis (AUS), Joachim Kern (GER), Egon Allgäuer (SUI)

Car #89 – BMW Z4 Coupé // Class SP6
70th outright // 3rd in class (12 laps)

Rob Thomson (AUS), Stefan Aust (GER), Frank Weishar (GER), Andreas Weishaupt (GER)

Car #102 – Volkswagen Scirocco GT24 // Class SP3T
73rd outright // 4th in class (12 laps)

Gregory Spark (NZL), Olaf Schley (GER), Andres Serrano (ECU), Yasuyoshi Yamamoto (JPN)

Car #42 – Porsche 997 // Class SP7
78th outright // 15th in class (12 laps)

Clint Harvey (AUS), Brett Niall (AUS), Malcolm Niall (AUS), Mark Pilatti (AUS)

Car #177 – BMW E36 // Class V6
79th outright // 4th in class (13 laps)

Angus Chapel (AUS), Garth Duffy (AUS), Dominique Bastien (USA), Michael Clemens (GER)

Car #153 – Seat Leon TDI // Class D1T
104th outright // 1st in class (11 laps)

Martin Bailey (AUS), Ivo Breukers (NED), Sjaco Griffroen (NED), Henk Thijssen (NED)

Car #144 – Renault Clio Cup // Class SP3
131st outright // 9th in class (12 laps)

Christopher Gleeson (AUS), Hugh Buckley (GBR), Volker Kühn (GER), Bashar Mardini (UAE)

Car #90 – BMW E36 M3 // Class SP5
Retired (accident) // 3 laps

Tony Alford (AUS), Kean Booker (AUS), Richard Gartner (AUS), Peter O’Donnell (NZL)

Car #190 – BMW E36 M3 // Class V6
Retired (accident) // 1 lap
Michael Eden (NZL), Wayne Moore (NZL), Maurice O’Reilly (NZL), Niels Borum (GER)